Visual Diaries

Excerpt from Liyin's Journal Excerpt from Liyin's Journal

Looking at the work of other artists and illustrators has felt very important as I work to expand my portfolio.  Over and over I have come across the concept of visual journals or diaries.  Above is an amazing excerpt from Liyin the Designer-In-Pajamas.  This one in particular has inspired me to start keeping a visual diary of my own.  I know I won’t be producing pages anywhere near this level for awhile, but I do think it’s a fantastic idea for anyone who is trying to find their voice as an artist or illustrator.  How better to find it than to draw something everyday – regardless of how it turns out.  I think it is important to have a place to write and draw about your thoughts and experiences with complete freedom.  I’m sure it will take me a few days (or weeks or months) to really get into it and get used to drawing without a lot of sketching first, but in the long run I believe it will improve not only my drawing skills but also my conceptualizing skills.

Leave a Reply

