More Sketching and a New Pen

10-27 10/27/2009

10-29 10/29/2009

Here are a few more of my journal drawings.  The second one was done with my new Lamy Joy calligraphy pen.  I had heard a lot of great things about Lamy Safari fountain pens, but when I actually tried one out there was not enough variety in the quality of line for me.  I was looking for something that could substitute my dip pens and that would be portable.  While shopping for pens at Lee’s Art Shop in NYC the salesman mentioned calligraphy pens.  I tried this one out and quickly realized that this is more like what I was looking for.  I get a great variety of line and I can take the pen everywhere.  I could do without the blue ink, especially since I would prefer something waterproof, which this isn’t.  For some reason, this ink and the paper in the Moleskine sketchbook just don’t mix very well – I found myself going over things several times.  I did, however LOVE the way it looked and felt when writing.  I plan to buy some Noodler’s Bulletproof black ink, but for now I’m going to keep experimenting.  So far, I would recommend this pen to anyone looking for a starter fountain pen.

2 thoughts on “More Sketching and a New Pen

Leave a Reply

