Drawing in Illustrator

Syringe

Yesterday, I decided to try my hand at creating an illustration completely in Illustrator and Photoshop.  I probably should have chosen subject matter with fewer straight lines, but other than that I think it turned out okay.  This is an illustration for a wellness article about ways to prevent the flu other than just the vaccination.  It will appear in my company’s monthly newsletter.

I’m so happy that I have a Wacom tablet – since embarking on this journey to a freelance illustration career, it has been an invaluable tool.  I can’t believe people used to draw in Illustrator using only a mouse!  I still need a lot of practice and I also want to start incorporating Corel Painter into my work.  Since my laptop is slowly dying, I hope to have a shiny new iMac to work on in the near future.  Yay for a bigger, better screen and a computer that can actually run Illustrator and Photoshop at the same time!

Leave a Reply

