IF: Unbalanced (and Brave)

Lately I’ve been doing a lot of experimenting with different coloring techniques – some of them were successful and some of them were … less than successful.  What I’ve come to realize time and time again is that my true talent lies more with black and white drawing.  When I’m using pen and ink I manage to get so much more detail.  Not to mention the fact that I love working with cross-hatching.  A drawing done with lots of detail and cross-hatching can feel more intricate and personal because you know the artist took the time to make every single mark on that page – and there are quite a lot of them!

Two of my biggest cross-hatching influences are R. Crumb and Jamie Tanner. Crumb recently published an illustrated version of the book of Genesis that is fantastic and Jamie Tanner is the author of The Aviary. He is currently working on a second book thanks to the support of myself and other backers over at Kickstarter.

**UPDATE

I’m also submitting this drawing for another Illustration Friday.  It fit perfectly for another topic: Brave.  Maybe that’s cheating, but it was too good a fit to ignore!

23 thoughts on “IF: Unbalanced (and Brave)

  1. I feel the same, I love pen or just black ink. I love, love stipple drawings! I do quite well with them and I feel like it shows that I put alot of time into the piece.I LOVE YOUR WORK, YOU ARE SO TALENTED!! =)

  2. This has just the right amount of space and detail, and the expressions of the two combatants are brilliant, so it works well. If you’re enjoying this kind of work, then you should definitely stick with it if you feel happy!

  3. Pingback: Unbalanced: Remix! | Michelle Kondrich Illustration

Leave a Reply

