IF: Renewal

Happy New Year everyone!

I feel terrible that it’s been a week since my last blog post!  I feel like I’ve been working like crazy lately but haven’t had much to show you.  And now I finally have something to show!  This is my entry for this week’s Illustration Friday.  It’s a pretty loose interpretation, but it’s a drawing I really wanted to do and I haven’t participated in Illustration Friday in a while.  This piece is based on my future husband’s tendency to stare lovingly at his bookshelf. Oftentimes he will rearrange things, or at least consider what he might rearrange at some point. I think rearranging his books gives him a sense of renewal.  I drew this first out of inspiration and then decided to give it to him as a birthday gift, since his birthday is on Saturday. Happy Birthday Chris!!

I would also like to take this opportunity to mention that Chris is currently featured in the newest issue of the Boston Review with an intro by Mark Strand – one of Chris’ favorite poets.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading about illustration lately.  I’m currently in the middle of “Inside the Business of Illlustration” by Steve Heller and Marshall Arisman.  It has a lot of insight into the business provided by a working illustrator/teacher and an art director.  I also just purchased Holly DeWolf’s “Breaking Into Freelance Illustration” which is supposed to be really great.  I first heard about her on the Escape From Illustration Island Podcast.  If you aren’t already a listener of that podcast and you want to be an illustrator, I highly recommend it.  Also recommended would be Chris Oatley’s Artcast and Big Illustration Party Time by Joshua Kemble and Kevin Cross.

Even though being back at my day job is not ideal, I’ve noticed that being back in a routine has really amped up my creative juices.  Not only do I have a bit of client work, I am now coming up with new personal projects left and right.  Now, more than ever, I feel like this is what I am meant to be doing and I will absolutely make it happen.

Last night, Chris and I watched half of Julie & Julia.  So far it’s a great movie (well, the Meryl Streep half is a great movie) and Chris and I both feel as though we can really relate to it right now.  We are both working day jobs we aren’t passionate about while trying to make our dreams happen.  Early this week I was a bit depressed about my day job, so the movie was simultaneously inspiring and depressing, but I think we all have to go through those low points every now and then.  I’ve been working so hard and I’m confident that I am going to reach the goals I’ve set for 2010!

5 thoughts on “IF: Renewal

  1. I completely relate to what you’re saying. I’m in the same quest: Pursuing my dreams one day -at my day job- at a time. Some days better than others, lows and highs. A good thing we have is this amazingly helpful and inspirational illustration community with illustrators like you right there willing to give you a hand. So, cheers to that!Thanks for sharing your thoughts and work. I love this piece! Great work! Fantastic line work!

  2. Michelle, this is a great illustration. Very realistic, actually looks like your apartment and Chris. Also you totally captured Chris, I know he looks forward to his personal library. Only thing that might be missing is a cup of tea. Happy Birthday Chris! See you soon!

Leave a Reply

