Untitled Commission

This is a piece that someone recently commissioned.  It is based off a photo of  Venustiano Carranza de la Garza.  I think it turned out nicely and I know they are going to love it!

I’ve been super busy the last week and a half so I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about my work.  Client work has been my focus lately and I feel like my personal work has lost a bit of momentum, as evidenced by the large drawing that has been in progress on my drawing table for weeks!  I’m feeling a bit directionless at the moment.  The drawings I’ve been doing are so much fun and I really enjoy the style, but I think I need to pick up a paint brush soon.  If my career path is going to lead me to children’s books (which may or may not be the path it takes) then I need to develop a style specifically for that type of work.  Should I paint physically? Digitally? The digital painting class I’m taking will hopefully bring some clarity in that department.

Things have slowed down this week so I am going to try to find time to work on that unfinished drawing. By the time I finish the pencils I may have a better idea of whether or not I want to color things with paint or with Photoshop – sometimes I’m paralyzed by possibility!  I would also like to make a real effort to be looser when it comes to my sketchbook.  No idea is too ridiculous for the Moleskine!

Leave a Reply

