‘Hatch’ In Progress

Over the weekend I spent most of my creative energy working on this piece (working title: “Hatch”).  It had been taped up on my drawing table in a sad, barely begun state, but once I started work on it I felt really energized.  It may not look like much has happened since I first posted about it, but getting things up on the grocery shelves took a lot of time.  Getting perspective just right isn’t always the most exciting thing to work on, but when you do it correctly it can add a lot of depth and ground an otherwise unrealistic piece in reality.  If you see any glaring issues with the composition so far, please feel free to point them out!

Originally I gave the carrot-toting chicks guns.  The more I thought about it, the more I doubted whether I should be putting actual weaponry in this piece.  Someday I would love to have the privilege to work on children’s books and I would hate for a piece like this, which has potential to be a great portfolio piece, to turn off a children’s book editor based solely on that.  As I mentioned in my previous post, I need to start focusing my work for the audiences I would like to reach.  That’s not to say that this piece couldn’t appeal to many audiences, but including guns or knives could seriously change the way my work is viewed.

Anyone else had an experience where something as small as that cost you a an opportunity?

4 thoughts on “‘Hatch’ In Progress

  1. You know, I’ve been reflecting about that, too -worrying that some pieces I like could put off potential clients. But it is also important to reflect your own style, no matter how whimsical it is, I think… When browsing children illustration artist’s portfolios, I get the dèjavú feeling that most of them have the same, similar styles, as if sticking to it guaranteed their published works. I don’t want to become a clone! IMO, I’d suggest you to keep this piece, first because you like it and second, because I’m sure it’ll rock some editor who’ll give you a story to illustrate that you’ll absolutely love.In fact, your drawing reminded me of a very funny sketch by a friend of mine. I’ll have to scan it to show it to ya someday 😉

  2. Thank you for your comment. I totally agree – I ended up ditching the guns and I’ve decided to go with grocery items as weapons (like a pointy carrot or something) that way it retains the same militant feeling without level of implied violence.

  3. Pingback: IF: Perspective | Michelle Kondrich Illustration

Leave a Reply

