Digital Painting Diary #2

I finally finished my second digital painting lesson on colorizing from a black and white image.  This drawing was done completely by Bobby Chiu, including the shading.  With this lesson I learned how to apply cover over a drawing that had been shaded similarly to the piece from the previous lesson. This lesson taught me so much about Photoshop that I didn’t know – and the way lesson 3 is progressing, I think that will be quite common.  The techniques I’ve been learning will definitely start showing up in my work.  I received a grade of 4 out of 5 stars and the last lesson, and I’m pretty pleased with the work I did on this one.  I do see some areas where I should have been more careful and took a little more time, but I’ve also been tight on time and for me, learning the lesson and the technique is much more important than the grade.  I can’t wait to have time to work on original pieces this way!

5 thoughts on “Digital Painting Diary #2

  1. I totally enjoyed looking and reading your art journals. I’m not too artistic so it it gives me a new appreciation of the love of your art.Aunt KathyP.S. You will see Melissa and I for sure at the wedding. Bruce doesn’t know for sure with his new trucking job!

  2. Pingback: Discount on Schoolism Digital Painting Classes! | Denver Illustrator Michelle Kondrich

  3. Pingback: Digital Painting #9 – Complete! | Michelle Kondrich Illustration

Leave a Reply

