Digital Painting Diary #3

So, for this lesson I learned how to use a scanned in, traditional texture like stippling or cross-hatching  to make a digital drawing look completely traditional.  I probably sound like someone who’s never seen Photoshop before, but with each class I’m amazed at these simple little tools and tricks that can turn a good painting into a great painting.

Once again, I want to make sure that Bobby Chiu gets all of the credit for the drawing itself.  He supplied the original line drawing and the textures and I used them to shade it so that the line drawing was no longer necessary.  Bobby has a much lighter touch than I do and his ability to create subtle details out of light and shadow is something I aspire too, but I’m a little heavy handed as it is now.

7 thoughts on “Digital Painting Diary #3

  1. Pingback: Digital Painting #9 – Complete! | Michelle Kondrich Illustration

Leave a Reply

