Digital Painting #5

So far, this is the digital painting lesson I am the most excited to try out.  In this lesson, Bobby Chiu taught me how to use the smudge tool in Photoshop to turn a line drawing into a very painterly, dimensional piece.  He mentioned that this technique can be great if you are more of a drawer than a painter.  I do a lot more drawing than painting and I’m a bit out of practice when it comes to painting, so I thought that sounded pretty good!

Once again, Bobby provided the original drawing and I followed along with his work step-by-step.  After only a few minutes of using the smudge tool I was convinced that this was going to be a great way for me to work.  I can’t wait to try it out on some of my own drawings and then use some of the previous techniques to color the images.  Prepare to see lots of digital experiments in a couple of months!

If you’re interested in taking this class, head over to Schoolism where they have lots of classes and other illustration resources.

5 thoughts on “Digital Painting #5

  1. Hi Michelle! I’ve been thinking about taking Bobby’s class, so it’s especially great to see what you’re doing — and glad you’re having so much fun with it! The old guy is shaping up nicely!

  2. You should definitely take one of his classes. He’s a great teacher and so talented that there’s no way you won’t learn something from him. And thank you for reading!! Let me know if you decide to take one – we can compare notes.

Leave a Reply

