Unbalanced: Remix!

Sorry the blog has been a little slow lately!  Now that it’s a month away from the wedding and we’ve started making plans for our move to Denver this summer, life has gotten a bit out of hand. Since I’m now looking for jobs in Denver (anyone got any hot tips?) I’m also working on redesigning my resume and creating a promotional piece in hopes of really standing out in the job search.  I’m focusing all my energy on preparing to search for a graphic design job or even an internship because this move is a huge opportunity to get into something that I’m really passionate about.  I will be taking off the entire month of July to work on all of the above and to continue with the children’s book I’m illustrating.

Today I was doing a lot of thinking about how I want to market myself and my work whether it’s via my resume and my website.  I think it’s time I upgraded to a more professional website, but before I do that I need to decide what kind of look and feel I will be going for.  And that means that I need to settle on a style and market (for now) and really focus in that direction.  The above piece is a direct result of me trying to determine that focus.

In the past, I have gotten the most positive response when I post detailed, cross-hatched drawings like Unbalanced, Steampunk Monkey or Renewal.  This is definitely work I love to do, but I wonder how marketable the style will be if it remains black and white only.  Tonight, I decided I would take one of these drawings and throw some color behind it to see if that could be a way to combine the two ways that I’ve been working.  I could retain the cross-hatching and level of detail without being limited to black and white.  This isn’t a perfect color scheme, by any means, but I would really appreciate your thoughts on it or on the subject of style.

7 thoughts on “Unbalanced: Remix!

  1. I think it’s a good idea to do what you love, and make that the first priority. Adding a touch of color can always help, while still allowing you to create the black and white style that you enjoy. Keep exploring!Thomas

  2. Thanks Thomas – I appreciate you taking a look. I think if I do something I don’t enjoy as much it will start to show in the final product. As I’ve heard many times on your podcast and others, doing personal projects you love can often be the pieces art directors gravitate to.

  3. I agree with Thomas. If you do what you love to do, it shines through your work and lets people see the real you! I love your style! Your characters are very expressive, quirky, and comical! Two thumbs up!

  4. I think i agree with the masses. The ink drawings seem to have more personality and confidence, while most of the purely digital stuff comes off more experiments. The ink drawings are certainly “marketable” in that they let your personal voice shine through, probably because the technique has mostly become second nature and you can concentrate on the visual problem solving. In contrast when you are trying to learn a technique you focus more on the details than creating a whole image. Of course this is all speculation based on browsing at a few pages of this blog. Just my impression.

  5. Thanks Nate! I think you hit the nail on the head about learning a new technique and how that can distract from the actual visual problem solving. Putting so much pressure on myself when it comes to the technique means that the concept suffers. Thanks for taking a look!

Leave a Reply

