Chaotic Life

 

I hate it when I go for a snack and there’s a giant panda in my way…

 

We are now a week and half from moving out of our apartment and 6 weeks from officially moving to Denver. Needless to say, life is a bit chaotic right now. Fortunately, I have lots of exciting news to share.

I’m almost finished with my short children’s story, “The Panda in the Pantry” that I have been teasing (sneak peek above) and will hopefully have a lot more information to share about in August. Also, last week I was hired for two magazine editorial illustrations which are my first real illustration jobs. This is particularly exciting because one of my goals for this year was to have my work printed in a publication. 

I’m feeling good about the possibility of continued freelance work when we arrive in Denver and I’m starting to send out promo materials to art directors there. I’m still looking for a job there, either part or full-time, so if you have any leads you want to send my way, they would be much appreciated.

The last year has been so crazy but all my hard work is starting to pay off. When I first began my journey into illustration it felt like such a huge uphill battle and it definitely is, but it’s nowhere near an impossible battle. If you’re determined to succeed and put in the work, it will happen. I recently purchased Thomas James’ new eBook “15 Steps to Freelance Illustration” and although I don’t have time now to go through it, once I get to Denver I will be following those steps to insure that the business I have built so far continues to grow. The book looks amazine and I would definitely recommend picking up a copy if you are starting to build an illustration business.

3 thoughts on “Chaotic Life

  1. Well done on getting some editorial work!! "This is particularly exciting because one of my goals for this year was to have my work printed in a publication." This was one of my goals too, and I recently achieved it because some of my work will be featured in an Australian magazine in Sept! Woo well done us!Starting an illustration career is so hard; I currently work full time as a graphic designer so finding time to illustrate is tough. Getting there though!Good luck on your move to Denver! Rachel x

Leave a Reply

