New Editorial Illustration: Obligatory Baby

Baby-Stroller-Editorial-Michelle-Kondrich

 

After coming down off of a few big projects, I decided to give myself an editorial assignment to help keep me thinking critically and to help beef up my portfolio.

This piece is very personal and reflects my current attitudes about having a baby. Many of the people I went to high school and college with have multiple children already, but we are nowhere near ready for that. We both have a lot of things we want to do and accomplish before a child comes along. In fact, sometimes we think about whether we should have a child at all, but we know we would probably regret it if we didn’t.

I’m experimenting with some new illustration techniques and this was my first attempt at using pencil lines instead of inked lines. For future pieces, I want the pencil lines to be even sketchier. I drew this piece out in blue pencil and then went over it with regular lead, so it lost some of the looseness it had in the beginning. I do like working with the pencils though. I find it’s easier to let the texture of the paper remain as part of the illustration which is an effect I’ve been trying to create artificially.

This piece is available as a print on Society6.

One thought on “New Editorial Illustration: Obligatory Baby

Leave a Reply

