APE 2011 Recap!

APE-Illopon-Comics-Convention

I’m back from a wonderful weekend at APE in San Francisco and totally exhausted! The trip was a whirlwind but a lot of fun and it was great to meet 3 of my fellow Illopond contributors. Above is (left to right) Charlotte Cheng, Denver Wagner, and Samuel Kirkman. We had loads of books and prints for sale, including our latest anthology, Boo!, which is now available for sale at Indy Planet!

APE-Illopon-Comics-Convention

Charlotte is very excited about our table.

APE-Illopon-Comics-Convention

Our table was far too cluttered the first day, as you can see here. We rearranged for Day 2.

There was so much amazing work to see and a pretty decent crowd. This was my first experience tabling at a con and it was  solid one. I was fortunate enough to see Daniel Clowes and Adriane Tomine speak together and answer questions and Craig Thompson also spoke about his new book, Habibi, and his previous 3 books.

Daniel Clowes was surprisingly funny and he resembles many of the characters he creates. He’d make a great straight man in a comedy duo. Craig Thompson was funny too and I could really relate to his Midwestern upbringing.

Craig-Thompson-APE-Habibi

Craig-Thompson-APE-Habibi

I did my best not to spend too much money so walking through some of the aisles was a serious challenge.

APE-Top-Shelf-Chris-Eliopoulos

Chris Eliopoulos' "Okie Dokie Donuts" was calling my name at the Top Shelf table.

APE-Drawn-Quarterly

The one purchase I did allow myself was the second volume of The Anthology Project. It is a really gorgeous book and I can’t wait to read it. The very friendly Jake Wyatt, one of the contributors, drew a lovely bird in the front of my book.

Anthology-Project-APE-Cover

Anthology-Project-APE-Comics-Sam-Bosma

This piece by Sam Bosma is what caught my eye in the first place.

Anthology-Project-APE-Comcis-Jake-Wyatt

My custom drawing from Jake Wyatt

 

Hooray for my first con experience! And thanks to Sam, Denver, and Charlotte for their hard work and for being such fun people.

I do have some books and prints leftover (print selection is below). I have copies of the kid’s anthology, Boo!, and Fly Danny, Fly. I plan to set up a shop for all of these things very soon, but if you are interested in purchasing any of these (with my signature if you like!) then please get in touch. I’m offering a serious blue light special on multiple prints, so don’t be shy!

Michelle-Kondrich-Prints-Selection-APE

The larger prints are 8x10 and the smaller prints are 5x7

3 thoughts on “APE 2011 Recap!

  1. Pingback: Go APE! | illopond.com | Creative Collective

  2. Pingback: Book Review: ‘Habibi’ by Craig Thompson | Denver Illustrator Michelle Kondrich

Leave a Reply

