Nutritionism – New Editorial Illustration

Nutritionism-Editorial-Illustration-Michelle-Kondrich

Nutritionism is a term used to describe our current practice of eating foods based solely on their nutrients and not on the food as a whole. We take the nutrients out of context and completely disregards the benefits of eating whole foods. Instead we cram nutrients where they don’t belong, like extra fiber to cereals made of corn and sugar, and we get far less nutrition in return.

I created this editorial illustration after reading about nutritionism in Michael Pollan’s book In Defense of Food. I had originally created it for a separate food project I’m working on, but since that project has taken a slightly different turn, I decided to share this with you and to add it to my portfolio. If you’re interested in food and food-related issues, you can follow my on my second Twitter account here.

Leave a Reply

