Alice’s Restaurant – Commissioned Illustration

Alice-Restaurant-Arlo-Guthrie-Squirrel-Penguin-DinerSome good friends of ours in New York recently had their first child, Alice. She’s about 4 1/2 months old now and they wanted to commission something for her for Christmas. They wanted something with the theme of the Arlo Guthrie song “Alice’s Restaurant,” and they wanted the lyrics to the chorus to be within the piece. Luckily, I was already familiar with the song (and a big fan of it!).

Above is the final piece. It will be printed at a large, poster size and shipped out to them soon. I’ll try to add some pictures of the printed product. I’d love to be able to sell this but I haven’t been able to get in touch with the record label that owns the rights to the song. If you would be interested in purchasing a print, though, let me know. If there is definitely interest, I’ll do my best to get permission!

A special thanks to the lovely Gaia Bordicchia who lent her eyes and her expertise while I was working on this.

2 thoughts on “Alice’s Restaurant – Commissioned Illustration

  1. I’m Alice’s grandma – not the one in the song – the one for whom this art was created. What a lucky little bunny our Alice is to receive such a unique and clever gift! Thanks, Michelle, for adding your talent to our love! Merry Christmas!

    • Thank you so much for the lovely note. I was thrilled to do this piece for Mike & Danielle and I can’t wait to see what it looks like on Alice’s wall.

Leave a Reply

