Goals for 2012

cookies-baking-michelle-kondrich

 

Okay, so this photo might not actually have anything to do with my goals for 2012, but it’s the holiday season and they look yummy, right? I made these a few nights ago and Chris and I are trying to keep from eating 4-5 a day.

After looking back at my goals from 2011, I’m pleased to report that I either hit all of them or hit a version of them that shifted as my life shifted.

Now that December is half over, it’s time for me to start thinking about the things I want out of 2012 for my illustration business. Here are some very specific goals:

* Launch my new (unfortunately secret) project in the first half of the year

* Create something new to distribute at Denver Con in the summer

* Draw from life more

* Start working in the publishing industry

I’ve also got some larger career goals:

* No free work – and don’t feel bad turning down underpaid jobs

* Make my promotions more targeted

* Apply for residencies & fellowships

* Experiment heavily and get more comfortable with my style of working

What goals are you setting for 2012?

3 thoughts on “Goals for 2012

  1. I’m glad you posted this, I need to line out and achieve my goals also.

    I hit a major milestone this year by changing from a job I hate to a challenging job with a company I think is going somewhere. The downside to that is I have had much less free time to write and draw. This means I will have to set aside some time and schedule what I am doing.

    My seconds achievement was to actually buy my domain name. I have had a blogspot site for years and I have a small core of people who identify with me on twitter. I felt like the domain was important to move forward.

    Right now the two most important things I can see is this:

    1. Write and draw more. I can achieve this by setting aside certain evenings or hours during the week and weekend to work on my creative side.

    2. I have to advertise myself… pimp myself out some. If people don’t know what I have, I cannot get the world to beat a path to my door.

    Both of these tie into each other. I need quality content which is presented on time. With it out there on time, I need to make sure people know about it.

    I’ll work more in. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year.

    • These are some really great goals – and congratulations on the job change. Advertising yourself is key if you want to make a living from your work and having your own domain is a great step. Check in and let me know how you’re doing!

      Happy Holidays!

  2. Pingback: 2013 Goals – Happy New Year! | Michelle Kondrich Illustration

Leave a Reply

