Watercolor Painting Test – The Stoop

Watercolor-Painting-Stoop-Illustration-Michelle-Kondrich

 

My new Winsor & Newton watercolor set arrived yesterday and I couldn’t wait to start playing around with it. Keep in mind, I’ve never really worked with watercolors before.

I learned a lot just from this quick little drawing. I laid the paint down prior to doing the inking due to my complete lack of confidence in the waterproof qualities of my ink and next time I will be shooting for a much more dynamic line. I think fewer colors and less saturation will be the way to go. It’s easy to give everything the same value at first so I want to keep the heavy saturation to the more important parts of the image.

I would also like to try combining black ink washes with color – maybe a mostly black and white image with a few hints of color.

Anyone have any tips for me based on this?

3 thoughts on “Watercolor Painting Test – The Stoop

  1. It looks great. I think you’re headed the right way too. I’m a newbie at that as well, but your approach says a lot. Seasoned artist taking on a new medium? Alright! I can learn a lot just watching you do it.

Leave a Reply

