Let the Residency Begin!

I made it safely to Nebraska City yesterday and I am officially an artist-in-residence at the Kimmel Harding Nelson Center for the Arts. I was definitely nervous about the whole thing but so far everyone has been really nice and the space is very comfortable. Today I will begin working in my studio for the first time.

During my 4 week stay I will be working on the first chapter of the graphic novel I created a proposal for. Whether the publisher is interested or not, I intend to go through with it and the original author is on board as well. I requested a table at TCAF this year so hopefully I can have this chapter available either to sell or to give away (depending on how long it is) if I end up with a table.

Today will be spent making sure I have everything I need – food, supplies, etc. – and settling into my studio. It’s such a big space that it makes me wish I was painting on huge canvases again! Instead, I’ll mostly have paper taped to tables.

It feels very much like I am at camp or at my first day of college, especially without my husband here. It’s going to take a few days to find my routine and get used to having zero responsibilities except my art and cooking myself dinner.

I am still open for commissions while I am here so if you were thinking about working together, don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Leave a Reply

