iBaby

iBaby-iPad-iPhone-Macbook-Poltergeist-Baby-Illustration-Michelle-Kondrich

During my first full day at the Kimmel Harding Nelson Center for the Arts as an artist-in-residence, I finished up this personal illustration. The shadows and contrast were inspired by the Poltergeist movie poster. How you feel about babies on devices so early will likely make a huge difference in how you see this illustration. It’s a difficult balance – even more difficult for those who actually have children.

I originally did two versions of this painting. The first seemed a bit too dark:

Fortunately, I had scanned the inks for the painting before I put any paint down, so I used that to retrace the drawing and give it another shot. I wanted the gradient to fade a little more slowly and wanted there to be some traces of my mark-making in the black/dark areas. The second one was definitely successful in that respect, but it was missing some of the drama from the first.

Ultimately, the solution was to combine the two and I was able to get the best of both worlds!

Prints of this illustration are available here and the original paintings are available in my Shop.

2 thoughts on “iBaby

  1. Wonderful illustration! The glow on the child’s skin and mesmerised pose looks so incredibly natural, and the surrounding shadow is very effective – it really draws you right into the moment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

